miércoles, 20 de diciembre de 2006

LERU, The League of European Research Universities, a step forward to the European Knowledge Economy.

In 2006, membership of LERU was extended to twenty institutions. LERU was founded in 2002 as an association of twelve research-intensive universities sharing the values of high-quality teaching within an environment of internationally competitive research.

Read about LERU on its website http://www.leru.org:

LERU acknowledges that Europe has lost its pre-eminent position in basic research. Actions to restore that position for the acquisition of new knowledge, for the assurance of high-quality education, for the benefit of innovation in industry, and for the enhancement of quality of life in society as a whole, are urgently needed. LERU wants to bring about radical changes in the governance, management and funding of basic research in Europe . LERU firmly believes that research-intensive universities should be major players in the process, associated with networks including industry. The autonomy of universities must be enhanced. LERU is strongly in favour of an integrated approach involving basic, strategic, and applied research. Major universities, acting through professional technology transfer offices, should become optimal partners for industry, not-for-profit organisations, and society at large. LERU does not promote the exclusive interest of its members, but seeks to defend the interests of all that are engaged in top-level basic research, and in the training of young scientists able to build and support Europe ’s role as the leading continent of the knowledge-based 21st century world.

Present Members of the League are:

Universiteit van Amsterdam
University of Cambridge
University of Edinburgh
Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg
Université de Genève (University of Geneva)
Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg (University of Heidelberg)
Helsingin yliopisto (University of Helsinki)
Universiteit Leiden (Leiden University)
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven
University College London
Lunds universitet
Università degli Studi di Milano (University of Milan)
Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU Munich)
University of Oxford
Université Pierre et Marie Curie, Paris 6
Université Paris-Sud 11
Karolinska Institutet, Stockholm
Université Louis Pasteur Strasbourg
Universiteit Utrecht
Universität Zürich